PDA

View Full Version : need advice

Tom Behnke
03-15-2010, 08:23 AM
Hi Dusties.

Going to try to keep this short. Completelr self taught artistically, and though I have audited audited few art classes, and learned quite a lot here, I still want to improve of course. Specifically, I am trying to work FASTER. I seem to be incredibly inefficient, lol.

I am looking for any advice on how I can kind of 'get it right the first time' instead of drawing, realizing that isn't quite in proportion, or not the shape I wante, etc.

Obviously the medium is made for 'easing' things into shape and is very forgiving of 'mistakes'. But can anyone help with exercises on how to make less of them?

DAK723
03-15-2010, 10:30 AM
I guess my first question would be, "How long does it take for you to complete a painting?" You might think that you are taking longer than others, but it might not be so. I remember watching some DVD demos by pastel artists, one of which was Bob Rohm. The thing that made the biggest impression on me was how SLOWLY he worked. He took forever!! But the results were quite nice!

But in general, and in my opinion, here are some things that you can try.

Do thumbnail sketches to work out the composition beforehand.

Do not draw in your initial composition with any detail whatsoever. If doing a landscape, for example, just indicate where the horizon line, or a major tree, or mountain, with a line or mark that indicates where it is on the page.

Then block in the big shapes with the side of a pastel. A range of mountains might be one shape, for example. A treeline - one shape to start, not individual trees. You can start your block with very light strokes at first, so that you can easily revise and re-mould those shapes.

Gradually, work towards the smaller shapes and details, but, in many cases, just suggest the details.

Those are things you can try, just as sketches at first, rather than aiming for finished paintings.

I know - easier said than done!