PDA

View Full Version : PASTEL Pencils vs Regular color pencils?

cuttineagle
03-08-2010, 10:07 PM
i am new in Pastels-beginner ...and I am wondering what is the difference between regular color pencils and pastel pencils? I mean except of the price! because the difference in price is HUUUUge!

robertsloan2
03-08-2010, 10:27 PM
They are completely different. Pastel pencils are like skinny little hard pastels -- comparable to the texture of Cretacolor Pastel Carre or color Conte or any of the medium-hard narrow square pastels, within a range. They're powdery, they handle like pastels, smudge like pastels and blend like pastels. They are very useful with other sorts of pastels for detailing, cleaning up hard edges, blending soft edges, undersketching or even doing entire passages without changing the matte, powdery pastel look of the piece.

Regular colored pencils are waxy and dense. They have a texture more like a pencil, ranging in hardness from about H to very super soft like an 8B pencil. Some are made with oil in the composition and work well with oil pastels in the same way pastel pencils work well with pastels, for detailing and edging.

Either type of pencils can be used alone of course. But pastel pencils even used alone will result in a pastel drawing. If you look at my art supply review site, recently posted, you'll see examples of drawings done with Prismacolor colored pencils in one of the first reviews and a couple of brands of pastel pencils including my latest review. You can see the difference in those.

Regular colored pencils don't even smudge as easily as graphite pencils either, while pastel pencils smudge like pastels.