PDA

View Full Version : Newbie doing first two pastel paintings. Workable fixative

luvmydogs
03-02-2010, 12:51 AM
Hi. :wave: I am new to pastels. Practiced on one once about 4 years ago, and now am suddenly working on 2 at the same time (don't know what I am thinking :eek: ) From what I have read on here, my paper isn't the best Strathmore Artagain. And my pastels aren't expensive ones either. Therefore I feel the need to use workable fixative. I am using black paper, and also using colored pencils with the pastels. i have sprayed each piece twice after doing a few layers on each. They lose so much of their brilliance, but it just seems to be a necessary step with what I am dealing with. Will I eventually have my color stay? I have about 4 different pads of paper (mein tientes? its not right here so I don't know exactly) and I have a few different boxes of pastels and pastel pencils. Buying new stuff isn't an option so I have to learn to deal with what I have. So do I have to just deal with losing color? Do I spray them with something else when i feel they are finished?
I have a stupid question that i have wondered about for years; why are they called painting instead of drawings?
Thank you for your help :)

robertsloan2
03-02-2010, 03:33 AM
Even on that paper, you might not need to use fixative as often. I used to use Canson mi-Tientes for street portraits, and when the fixative darkened or dulled the portrait, I'd add the last details and highlights again after letting it dry. That didn't seem to be a problem.

I'd suggest planning well, work loosely, use the paper color as part of your composition and see if you can do without the fixative if you really don't like its effects. I have been using it less and less over time -- and on black, it really does make the dark paper show through more.