PDA

View Full Version : songs about art (proscrastination thread)

Tom Behnke
02-23-2010, 03:49 AM
Ok I am having real problems with my painting so I am jus going to stare at it for tonight and figure out where to start to fix it.

I am a writer primarily, then an artist (in that I seel to earn money through these endeavors as well as self expression). But imy first creative outlet was music. I stopped playing (ot tryinh to play) professionally long ago, but still NEED to play the same way I need to wrote or draw. But since I have had more success with writing and art, those are my priorities. And as I have a tandency to procrastinate, I have made playing my gtr, keybrd or bass is
A 'reward' for after I have finished my creative 'busines'. Right now I have three paintings I need to do, and I am working on two different writing projects, so haven't played music in a while and probably won't be able to for a few weeks.

But I still listen to it (next best thing, though poor substitute) and I am a big fan of the band King Crimson.

I know there are a few popular songs based on art (Vincent prob most famous)
But I wanted to post one that perhaps not a lot of people have heard of since Crimson is not for everyone, and this particular song was published in 1973 or '4.

I really like the creative domino effect of a great painting inspiring a great poem or song (btw if you have never read it read Ann Sexton's poem on Starry Night).

This one is called The Night Watch.

Shine, shine,
the light of good works shine
The watch before the city gates
depicted in their prime

That golden light all grimy now
Three hundred years have passed
The worthy Captain and his squad of troopers
standing fast.

The artist knew their faces well The husbands of his lady friends
His creditors and councillors In armour bright, the merchant men
Official moments of the guild In poses keen from bygone days
The city fathers frozen there Upon the canvas dark with age