PDA

View Full Version : Trouble with blending tools and detail

AngelaMarie2
02-23-2010, 01:08 AM
Hi everyone, this is my first post on WetCanvas, and I'm not sure if I'm posting this is the right place or not, so please bare with me! :)

I recently started painting with pastels and I'm having some trouble in a couple of areas. I can't seem to find the answer to my questions on the internet, or in any book.

First, I can't seem to get any of my blending tools to actually "blend." I have used everything, tortillions, blending tools, pastel brushes, q-tips and colourshapers. All of these tools seem to pick up the pastel instead of blending it.

Secondly, I'm having a lot of trouble with detail and hard lines. For detail, I've tried using the edge or corner of a pastel, but the line it just not as thin as I'd like it to be. As far as a hard edge, I just can't see how to achieve that. Some blending always seems to be required, therefore there is no hard line. Maybe I just need some more practice with this.

Does anyone have any advice in either of these areas? If others have asked these questions in the forums before, I'm sorry! I read through several pages, but couldn't find the advice I was looking for.

Thank you!

-Angela

Lynndidj
02-23-2010, 01:42 AM
Hi Angela - Welcome!!!

First of all - I don't use much other than another pastel or my finger to blend - I also find that blending tools and brushes just pick up the pastel. I am referring to stick pastel and not PanPastel right now. Often times a harder pastel over a softer pastel will blend beautifully and make the color more complex.

For very fine lines I use pastel pencils. You can also use sand paper to take a hard pastel (like a NuPastel) and shape it into a sharp point, but I tend to avoid that - too dusty and seems kind of wasteful to me.