PDA

View Full Version : Hi Dusties. I am back and still alive. LOL

Tom Behnke
02-18-2010, 10:43 AM
I had to stop drawing or doing anything creative for a time. But that is another long story that I have to pay a therapist to tell, lol.

But I have a question now that I am back.

First, I have this very weird thing about art. I am a computer technician, and I did not take any classes. I simply read the books, and took the test and was certified. I did formally study music, and I do formally study poetry and writing and have many instructional books on both subjects that I have found quite useful.

But when it comes to art instruction books, they might as well be in greek (i don't speak greek btw, lol). I have never been able to do the step by step things, you know draw the circle then the triangle on the sides and blend it all in and you have a kitty cat. OK, so that is just me. I am not knocking art instruction at all. I just can't learn that way. I can learn in classes which I have taken.

my question is not a right or wrong one, or yes or no. I want to know how other work in this particular area.

When I begin a project, I usually select a specific size it is going to be. And usually it is a common size so I can get a cheap frame to protect it until it is sold, and don't have to custom frame because I am poor, lol. And people's tastes in frame are so widely different I just sell them it matted and let them frame it. cuts my price down and also a lot of hassle.

So I will usually measure off, say a 16 x 20 area of paper, and use masking tape to delineate it. When I am done I will cut it so that there is enough room for matting.

Ok, now sometimes I will be working and lose perspective, so that my painting no longer 'fits' with the ref pic. I have to rework it, or just improvise if I am so far gone in it that I can't rework it.