PDA

View Full Version : WIP - The resting place

indigorose2
02-03-2010, 09:46 PM
Okay, folks. I'm a newbie to both the BB and to acrylics, so please be kind. This is my first painting and I'm still learning - and I've got a LOT to learn.

This started out as pencil on canvas. I then applied fixative. I have a medium gloss gel giving texture to the roof area and some depth to the flag. I'm looking at putting it on the near post to the right too, for more depth.

I put an underlayer of paint setting most of the colors, but haven't touched the white yet. Now I've started putting a second layer on the greens and blues, and have now added the darks in the doorway.

I know I'm not doing it the way a lot of you do with setting shadows first but this what I'm being taught in a painting class that I'm taking right now. (Christmas gift from my DH.)

Here's the pic. Painting is tentatively titled The Resting Place...

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/03-Feb-2010/213774-therestingplace.jpg

indigorose2
02-03-2010, 09:49 PM
Oh, and this is the original that I'm working from...

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/03-Feb-2010/213774-DSCF0840.JPG

noodle1
02-04-2010, 11:35 AM
Hi and Welcome,
Think this is a good start. Love your reference and can't wait to see how you progress. I don't lay in shadows first but then I don't always approach every piece the same way, learning the many ways there are, you can choose, that's always good. LOL

Elaine

susme48
02-04-2010, 02:41 PM
Looking good so far...and I tend to 'just paint' without alot of prep or forethought....so :o

I hope you don't mind....I straightened your painting in my photo program...so we could see the angles better.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/04-Feb-2010/51170-wchousepic.jpg

It seems like your porch rail might need a second look. But otherwise you seem to be on the right track....love your ref!

indigorose2
02-04-2010, 04:03 PM