PDA

View Full Version : Dabbling in Printing #1 Monotypes

trafford
02-02-2010, 05:35 AM
William Merritt Chase

This month we are starting a new series called DABBLING IN PRINTING, a sort of workshop for beginning printmakers.Our opening dabble will be MONOTYPES.

I am quite new at this myself, but I'll start us off. I have two wonderful books "Monotype" by Julia Ayres and "The Complete Printmaker" by John Ross, Claire Romano and Tim Ross. I also have a book gelatin plate printing, but I've never tried it. All I could imagine was jello running down the table. These books are all in the library.

Here is a daunting list of materials from "The Complete Printmaker":

Hope you can read the list...it weems to have come in different sizes.

trafford
02-02-2010, 06:15 AM
Working from a Dark Field.

Cover a plate with medium and then manipulate or remove paint to create an image.

Demo: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zzvGgM39lug&feature=PlayList&p=7C285C9CC0075E01&index=0&playnext=1

Edgar Degas

Here are two articles on HOW TO and a little history:

http://www.monoprints.com/history/brief.html

http://www.monoprints.com/info/monoprints.html

I love monos...You can do almost anything with them. I had a youTube demo of a watercolor done on a plate and then paper was soaked and blotted and then hand rubbed, but I couldn't find it again.

I have a cheapo student press that makes everything go sideways, but I may give it a try.

Please give working from a dark field a try, or paint a picture and then print it..or just go wild. It seems you can use almost any medium. I have some of the awful water based Speed Ball inks which I guess I'll use to experiment.

If you have any questions post them here and I'll try to get them answered and if there are any experienced printmakers out there...we could use help with some of the other techniques, and advice on inks and papers.

I'll be back in a couple of days with more info...Janet:heart:

artbyjune
02-02-2010, 05:09 PM