PDA

View Full Version : Good Start - Gone Bad =(

Karen1160
01-24-2010, 07:40 PM
I wanted to share this with you in hopes that someone can give me some suggestions on how to salvage what was once a good start to a beautiful rose painting.

I was trying to use the underglaze/layering technique. While I admit I have little experience, I gave this an honest go. The technique has worked for me in the past. For some reason when I started in on the color .... it went south.

*dee*
01-24-2010, 07:44 PM
Hmmmmm, I assume you intended to post a pic. I'll check back later.

In the meantime, welcome to our little corner of WC! :wave:

Karen1160
01-24-2010, 07:47 PM
For some reason my photos are not showing. Hmm

any suggestions?

Lady Carol
01-24-2010, 09:01 PM
make sure you do not have any funky symbols in the title and that it is under 800kb in size.

Karen1160
01-24-2010, 10:43 PM
One more timehttp://picasaweb.google.com/TropicalDiva/PinkRoseWIP#

OK I tried for longer than I care to admit ... dont know what it is but here is a link to the photos instead.

*dee*
01-24-2010, 11:18 PM
When you started to apply color, you lost your lights. And when you tried to regain them....you lost your darks.

When I start as you did, I find it helpful to "posterize" (I use Paint Shop Pro) the ref pic...and follow that for the first few layers.

The dead layer gives you the lights & darks. In your first colored pic it shows that you "lost" those lights & darks by having a high concentration of color in the areas that should be light (making them more dark).

If you were to "greyscale" that first color photo, of the painting, I think you would see what I mean. The next two color pics show you losing the "darks" even more...instead of restoring the contrast that you need.

Karen1160
01-24-2010, 11:24 PM