PDA

View Full Version : Realism in Acrylics

LisaDoodleHead
01-24-2010, 06:18 AM
Okay, I am new to this medium. Realism. How does one achieve that in acrylics? I would venture a guess that values being watched carefully, having figured out everything beforehand for your picture (plotting), would be the first thought to come to my mind. I know if my values are not balanced, any painting would look garish.

To achieve realism in watercolor, Susan Harrison-Tustain has a method of applying the watercolor so that she builds up layers of color. She can create wonderful depth. In oils, one can glaze and create the same effects. What about acrylics??? Is there anyone who paints in great realism, showing what the medium can do?

HankB
01-24-2010, 06:39 AM
What do you mean by great realism?

idylbrush
01-24-2010, 06:39 AM
There are many realists here. Look at maverick, lilibelle, debee, Roger Evans, just to name a few. There are far to many others to take time to print here. These will give you a start.

Maverick has a few lessons in the information kiosk that might be of interest.

Welcome to the acrylic forum, grab a seat and have some fun.

tonyjazz
01-24-2010, 09:19 AM
Welcome to the forum. Look forward to see your artworks soon.

Lady Carol
01-24-2010, 09:45 AM
To achieve realism in watercolor, Susan Harrison-Tustain has a method of applying the watercolor so that she builds up layers of color. She can create wonderful depth. In oils, one can glaze and create the same effects. What about acrylics??? Is there anyone who paints in great realism, showing what the medium can do?
Same with acrylics. Many layers and/or glazing.

Ianart (http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=603738)is another one who paints in excellent realism. If you are after someone famous, the Robert Bateman would be one to investigate.

noodle1
01-24-2010, 10:00 AM
Big Welcome from me too.

Ditto Howard and Carol! Looking forward to seeing your work.

Elaine

ribeyedsmile
01-24-2010, 11:24 AM