PDA

View Full Version : So what do I do now?

charliedawg
01-23-2010, 02:09 PM
Our local art group is "doing" acrylics this term. I am fairly new to acrylics so I went armed with paints and a cheap canvas. However, what the tutor wanted us to do was use acrylics with lots of water more or less like watercolour. When I tried this on the canvas most of the watery paint just landed at the bottom of the canvas. So I just puddled along with this doodle which got to look a bit like a lakeside scene.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/23-Jan-2010/125969-Acrylic-doodle-1.jpg

OkeeKat
01-23-2010, 02:52 PM
Hi Walter!
good to see you back with Acrylics, This turned into a quite interesting look!, You can probably turn it into a landscape, very loose, water scene.
Not sure how come the water pooled down, unless there was too much water. I use alot of very thin water paint, sometimes it starts out looking like a watercolor when doing my underpainting, but just build up the layers.. I guess its almost like glazing.
Only thing is some paints dont hold the pigment when thinned too much, but my Liquitex heavy body does very well. I can do numerous layers and still see the weave of the canvas thru, so its not thick at all.

Are you going to leave it like this or try to turn it into something else??
its pretty interesting when you keep looking at it.

allegretto
01-23-2010, 06:04 PM
I like your results. When I want to paint with acrylics using watercolor techniques, I prefer using flo-aid by Liquitex, instead of water. Actually, I always use flo-aid as a wetting and thinning-down agent. It mixes 20 parts water to 1 part flow aid, so a $6.00, 6 oz. bottle last for more than a year. I feel I have more control with the flo-aid rather than with water.
Happy painting!
Ciao, Pam

Foxyheart2002
01-23-2010, 06:08 PM