PDA

View Full Version : Did I poison my cats with paint water?

Ronnier
01-11-2010, 05:28 PM
...and if so, let this serve as a WARNING for other pet-owners!

I just lost my two cats - the 16-year-old just before Christmas, and now my 9-year-old on Friday. I'm wondering if their deaths may have been hastened by them drinking out of my dirty watercolor water.

I just heard about the poisonous properties of cadmium during a demonstration this weekend that I attended! I do use some cadmium colors in my pallette. I only started painting about 2 years ago. The cats loved to sit on my table with me, and would sometimes drink out of the container I used to rinse out my brushes.

The older cat had other health issues, so we just figured he'd come to the end of a nice long life. But the younger one started getting these strange bumps on her body back in November, and wasn't eating well; so we took her to the vet. The vet was unsure if the lumps were skin cancer, and discovered the cat's teeth were very bad, as well. Surgery was recommended to fix exposed roots and infections in her gums, and while undergoing that, the vet would take off one of the lumps and send it in for biopsy.

Well, our poor little kitty's heart stopped as she was coming out of the anesthesia; the vet was able to revive her, but she died about 2 hours after coming home. I don't know if the vet will continue with the tests on the biopsied lump since the patient is now off on her Next Great Adventure, so the results won't matter.

Anyway, now I'm kicking myself for not keeping the paint water covered at all times. I will certainly do that from now on.

I'm asking that if anyone reading this has pets that like to hang out on their painting areas to please watch what they drink out of. Just in case.

ianuk
01-11-2010, 06:52 PM