PDA

View Full Version : hi I'm new to pastels

inmystudio
01-11-2010, 03:44 AM
I wrote a very long post and attached photos only to be told I need to have at least two previous posts to be able to post a picture so this is my second post :D
I'm here to learn as I know hardly anything about pastels actually I hardly know anything about painting or drawing at all! so I have a lot to learn I love this forum and hope I have the staying power to actually be good some day.
I tried to post on the learning centre forum but it won't accept new posts? I really wanted someone to show me step by step how to paint water with a koi fish? I've tried searching fish and ponds and I can't find any lessons or steps for either, any ideas?
Also I wanted to ask about materials but can't post on there so where should I put these types of questions, on here?
I'm driving my husband and children mad with my new found love of pastel hope I don't do the same to you.
Cheers Deborah.

Paula Ford
01-11-2010, 04:01 AM
Hello Deborah! Welcome to the Pastel Forum!

This thread is extremely helpful for beginners in pastel... http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=392571

Merethe T
01-11-2010, 07:37 AM
Hi Deborah, welcome to the Pastel forum! :wave:

To get the best answers for your questions, post in one of the medium spesific forums. If you have questions about Pastel materials, the Pastel talk is the place to ask. If you have work you'd like to show and get comments on, post in the Pastel Studio and Gallery. Also browse through the different sub-forums for pastels, there's so much information available through WIP's, demos and older threads - most questions have probably been asked earlier and might be useful for you. I know many members prefer to do an advanced Google search to find information, it seem to bring up more information. Just spesify in the search that you want links from Wet Canvas.

I hope this is useful for you, just let us know if you need more help! :)