PDA

View Full Version : Innocence

Kevin2417
12-13-2009, 10:49 PM
Hi Everyone,

I've been checking in periodically over the past few weeks and though it was time to post what I am working on. I am working on a portrait and have say, I am enjoying myself quite a bit so far!! I am still learning but I think I am beginning to understand how to utilize my pencils (thank God for erasers!). This piece is not done yet but I thought I would see what the professionals think. Hope you like it. CC appreciated!

Kevin2417
12-13-2009, 10:50 PM
Few more images.

Donna T
12-14-2009, 08:45 AM
Hi Kevin, I don't do portraits but enjoyed watching the progression of this painting. Cute little girl! Maybe you could possibly soften that shadow line on her neck? I'm not sure, but if you're working from a photo it might be a little too defined. I wish I knew more about this kind of thing but hopefully someone else does.

Colorix
12-14-2009, 10:04 AM
Hi Kevin, Looking good. You're searching for the shapes and working on sculpting the face, that's great! I think the next to last picture works best (sorry...). Reason: the details (eyes, teeth), they are a wee bit too hard. See, the problem with teeth, especially in children (who have so white teeth), is that they are the lightest light against the darkest dark of shadows inside the mouth, and because of that become the area of interest. My advice is: fake it! Make the teeth slightly darker, the edges soft and blurry -- more 'hint at' than 'spell out'. Same goes for many details, often less is quite enough.

Good work, especially that you've painted the volumes and shapes in the face. It looks like it is a very good likeness, and you are getting a grasp of those pencils (no pun intended). Very nice!

(And yes, I have a pet pevee about teeth... :-)

Hope to see many more by your hand!

Charlie

Kevin2417
12-14-2009, 11:40 AM