PDA

View Full Version : transferring a sketch over dry acrylic??

skyelee
11-26-2009, 10:41 PM
Hello to all! I am fairly new to acrylics and I find if I transfer my sketch to my painting surface in the very first step, I tend to quickly lose the sketched outlines, especially when I paint the sky over the sketched trees for example. My question is: is there an easy way of transferring my sketched image lines over dry acrylic paint, paint some more and let that dry, then transfer more over the top of that after it has dried until I have all the details in? Or am I asking the impossible? Any help and advice would be greatly appreciated!! :)

George Servais
11-26-2009, 11:07 PM
I do that all the time. My first sketch is very rough just to locate objects and to work on composition. I generally lose much of the sketch. If the background is dark I will use a conte pencil (white ) or chalk. I mainly us #2 soft vine charcoal which is easy to dust off or cover up. Contrary to popular belief it does not dirty up the colors (provided one uses a light touch) also the technique I use is fairly heavy and the paint covers it well. When I am done a damp paper towel will wipe any leftovers off very easily.
If you are using drawings to trace from you can use carbon paper provided it not the waxy kind. Use WAX FREE artists graphite paper which is usually available in any good art supply store. Artist graphite paper comes in both black and white.

dances_with_oils
11-26-2009, 11:52 PM
I use a tailor's blue chalk pencil if I'm working on a white canvas and the white chalk pencil if it's a darker canvas. The chalk is non-waxy and tends to not disappear or bleed through. The artist graphite paper is good too.

Eraethil
11-27-2009, 03:36 AM
Some other ideas, albeit less straight forward: