PDA

View Full Version : The REAL Thanksgiving painting: Turkey or...?

Deborah Secor
11-26-2009, 01:43 PM
So I read an article about how many people are having turkey for their Thanksgiving Day feast and how many rebel and have something else...

Now as an artist, I'm interested in societal trends. I mean, if I decided to paint that proverbial depiction of the traditional Thanksgiving table groaning with food, what should I include? Would it be that Norman Rockwell image of turkey, stuffing, gravy, mashed potatoes, green beans, pumpkin pie, etc...

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/26-Nov-2009/23609-ThanksgivingFeast-743912.jpg

or something more creative and regional?

Around here you might be as likely to find green chile enchiladas, or cornbread and chorizo stuffing, or cranberry jalapeno relish!

So what will be in the painting of YOUR holiday feast? Inquiring minds want to know.... :D

Deborah

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!

Donna T
11-26-2009, 02:25 PM
Happy Thanksgiving, Deborah! It's mostly the Norman Rockwell painting here, although maybe the mom in the painting knew how to make decent gravy and didn't have to open a jar. :D Since I have taken over the dining room for my studio holiday dinners are usually buffet style with extra chairs around the kitchen table. Not fancy but always fun!

Deborah Secor
11-26-2009, 02:36 PM
Donna, I'm doing a VERY simple meal for four people, with no southwestern flair this year. Just the traditional stuff: turkey, stuffing, gravy, mashed potatoes, green bean casserole (except my son is making the non-dairy gourmet version with fresh mushrooms--yum!), and pumpkin or pecan pie (yeah--for four people I have two pies... :lol:) We keep it simple, casual and relaxed. I need to go start chopping things up soon.

Enjoy! :wave:
Deborah

Adriana Meiss
11-26-2009, 03:01 PM
Happy Thanksgiving to you!