PDA

View Full Version : New Studio construction and tour

ElsieH
11-23-2009, 01:03 PM
:wave:

After my retirement as an elementary teacher, I started moving from just graphite drawing to painting in watercolor and pastel. Without a studio, I worked on the dining room table for a short period. Then I started using an old desk in one end of my music studio. I added an easel and my pastels and watercolor materials started taking over more space in that end and the walk way in the room. :eek:

With mobility issues related to arthritis and lingering effects of polio, it seemed that I could not use any options that involved stairs etc.
What to do? All my solutions seemed only temporary.
By this past summer, the studio overflow reached a point that I could not really use that area any longer.
I had the blessing of my mobility becoming better, muscles improving etc. and now I can go up an down stairs carefully.

We have a room in our basement that was used as a "family room" by former owners, but as a storage room by us. It had some grubby old cabinets and dark "barn-board" walls. All this did not shout "perfect studio" in the making. :rolleyes:

Pushed on by necessity and determination, I started sorting out stored items, getting rid of stuff and repacking others to clear an area to make a studio. Working alone and overwhelmed by the mess, I was about to give up when an "angel" appeared, in the form of my dear hubby, Bob.
Together we took on the big clearing job.

Next, we installed four ceiling light fixtures with Phillips Daylight tubes.
The barnboards came off and we replaced them with melamine/whiteboard paneling.

We took out the old cabinets, repaired them and I painted them with white enamel.

Bob constructed a wonderful long shelf/table along one side for my "pastel palette".

We finished the construction and then had to carry all the art stuff down stairs. Many muscle aches later, the transformation had be made!:clap: