PDA

View Full Version : Re-Gesso canvas?

Night Dancer
11-17-2009, 04:37 PM
Hi Wetcanvaser's, I am new to painting on canvas (4 paintings/one finished) :wave: . I would like to know that if any one here re-gessos their canvas?
The problem I am having, is that when I cover an area with paint, I get a few bumbs that done take the paint. I have painted over, but sometimes I
do not have the mixed color paint any more. I looked up under search, but
the search for is down at this moment.
P.S. One more question. Does anyone put their pallets with un-used paint in Zip-lock bags, and then put them in the refrigerator after a session. :confused:
I can use some of the colors, but they dry up if I there is a small amount on the pallet? LLoyd

idylbrush
11-17-2009, 04:50 PM
Most of the time I will gesso a canvas even if it comes primed from the store. It seems there is something about the gesso the factories use that now and again there are spots that give me fits. So, you are not alone. I would consider the possibilites of adding another layer of gesso, cut with distilled water to a 2 part gesso and 1 part water. It will go on better and smoother and may be just what you need.

Just my humble thoughts on the subject.

wabbitt
11-17-2009, 06:53 PM
You can re-gesso canvas that has been painted with acrylic paint. Acrylic gesso is not recommended over oil paint. The bumps can be sanded lightly with fine grit sandpaper, but I don't bother. I think they add character. I paint over it.

The paint palette in the fridge/freezer is an oil painting trick. I don't think it does anything for acrylic paints. You can put saran wrap (cling wrap) over your paint piles and stick it in the zip-lock bag with a damp sponge. I put my palette in a sealed plastic box so I can do without the cling wrap.

If the amount of paint is too small, nothing you can do. It's going to dry up. You can save a bit in plastic photo film canisters for a short time, like a week.

OkeeKat
11-17-2009, 08:10 PM