PDA

View Full Version : Oils, Bad for your Health???

bertk
09-06-2002, 04:26 PM
I have heard and read some articles from the medical profession that long term exposure to turpentine, paint thinners and or oil paint fumes can be very harmful to your health? I love painting with oils but now begin to wonder??? Could some of you shead some light on this for me, thanks:)

G.L. Hoff
09-06-2002, 04:55 PM
Gosh...there's a lot of light to shed. You should look through the archives--try using anything about turpentine, pigments, or solvents as search terms. Consider, too, getting a book about safety in painting. Amazon sells several.

Now then, I suppose as a physician I can answer a lot of this. Here's my take about most health issues in a nutshell:

1) Turpentine is not toxic (at least, not in the sense most people mean) unless you breathe a whale of a lot of it or you drink it. It's absorbed by skin, yes, but it takes enormous amounts to affect the liver or other organs. But. Some people are sensitive to aromatic and aliphatic hydrocarbons (found in turp and mineral spirits and other solvents) and should avoid them. This is not toxicity but sensitivity. Long-term exposure can cause sensitivity.
2) Oil paint doesn't have fumes unless it's mixed with something. Most oil paint is just oil, pigment, and stabilizers or other inert additives (in some cases, notably student grade paint, a lot of additives). Linseed oil or other drying oils could cause problems if you're allergic, but otherwise don't worry about 'em. You can eat all of them.
3) Certain heavy metals and other substances in paint (not just oils--watcolors too) can cause problems if they're ingested or absorbed--cobalt, lead, cadmium, manganese, and others. But the level of exposure to painters is generally very small.