PDA

View Full Version : Selling on Ebay

meatball2006
09-07-2009, 08:24 PM
Have anyone here have success selling their work on Ebay?
What were your experiences?
I'm trying out a painting on there now.
There's a link on my blog if your want to check it out and give me any ideas on listing.
Thanks, Paul:thumbsup:

keemo
09-11-2009, 02:44 PM
I have been selling on ebay for about 3 years. I sell only small pieces that won't hurt my feelings if they go for $10. The most underestimated value of ebay is the promotional value. Many larger commissions have been generated from ebay exposure. Almost all of my serious collectors also originated from ebay. Explore and experiment and try to find out what works for you. Ebay is not for everyone.

meatball2006
09-11-2009, 05:24 PM
Thanks Keemo,
The exposure angle is a good way to look at it.
Thanks for the Info.
Paul

salmon
09-12-2009, 10:50 AM
This is only my opinion, ignore it if you want but it comes with the experience of selling paintings on eBay for years.

Your starting price is way too high. I know it's hard letting our creations go but you've got to be realistic, especially in these cash strapped times. I'd put that on eBay starting at $4.99. That way the market will decide what it is worth and you need to know that before you put more work on. You can then gauge how much effort to put into each piece to see if it will be worth your while continuing.

Take a look at the competition. There is some good stuff out there which doesn't sell even though it's price is rock bottom. Subject matter maybe?

Unfortunately, it seems that anyone who can hold a crayon, is blitzing eBay at the moment. Lost job. Desperate financial situation. Don't know. So the art categories are getting swamped with second rate work which reflects badly on the good work which may get lost amongst it. So whatever you do has got to be good, different, value for money.