PDA

View Full Version : Santa Barbara Beach Bike

Brenda Y
08-28-2009, 12:29 AM
I am new to wm oils, having only painted 2 landscapes before this painting. I have been painting with watercolors for 3 years and am so accustomed to drawing and painting and being able to see the graphite lines. With oils, the lines get buried and I find it extremely difficult to just PAINT. Having said that, does anyone have any tips for maintaining or preserving the drawn lines?! This bike was very hard for me, so be kind with your critique :o
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/27-Aug-2009/83537-090827BeachBike.JPG

couturej
08-28-2009, 07:50 AM
Lovely painting! You can use fixative to maintain your drawing lines. I like the bike. Your whole painting has a painterly approach that I love.:)

Brenda Y
08-28-2009, 10:32 AM
Janet,
Thank you. I painted the wall first and that's when I lost the lines I had drawn for the bike. I suppose I should not have painted over those lines. I forgot to mention that this is painted on Yupo. I'm always game for experimentation and have had a love/hate relationship with Yupo and watercolors for a little over a year. The Yupo gives the ms oils a glazed look.

couturej
08-28-2009, 10:49 AM
Oh I see what your saying. Yup I paint over my lines often. What I found worked is making sure your brush has a chiseled edge and use a mall stick or other ways to steady your hand. Work up to the line carefully and try to use thinner paint in those areas. It takes practice and I'm still working on it. Yupo that sounds interesting. Forgive my ignorance but is that a type of paper?

Brenda Y
08-28-2009, 12:02 PM
Janet,
Good tips about using thinner paint up close to the lines -- I'll try that. And, oh my yes, it's hard to keep a steady hand. I'm using a table top easel and then I put both elbows on the table and hold my right wrist with my left hand, it helps but is perhaps not as good as a mal stick.