PDA

View Full Version : How long have you been painting with Water Mixable Oils?

couturej
08-16-2009, 11:27 AM
Hi everyone! :wave: I was wondering how long everyone has been painting with WMO. I started painting with this wonderful medium a year ago. I'm still learning the medium. This forum is helping so much. :)

mawdwyn
08-16-2009, 03:10 PM
I don't really remember just when it was - sometime around '97 or '98, I got a sample set of W&N Artisans. I still painted with my regular oils, until I ordered some more Artisan colors, then I switched over from the regular oils. So I'll go with 10+ years.

dbclemons
08-16-2009, 06:04 PM
Over 10. I believe it was in '93 or '94 when I started using Grumbacher's Max, soon after they first came out. I remember the art store in Berkeley near where I was living then had just gotten them in for the first time.

judyfilarecki
08-16-2009, 07:15 PM
I think it is 4 or 5 years or more. I can't remember. I use so many different mediums depending on my mood or the subject.

My first trial with them was with WN artisan because that was alll could find at the time, and I was having such a bad time with the fumes from the oils and cleaners because of asthma, that I was really thankful when I came across them. I love them and learn something new everytime I use them.

Judy

Susan H
08-16-2009, 07:26 PM
I've been using WM oils for about three years after switching from watercolor, then gouache and finally to oils. The last year my paintings have gotten a lot better...it was tough adjusting from thin paint to thick paint. For watercolorists, I think WM oils are a good choice for exploring oil painting.

id-art
08-16-2009, 08:24 PM
I tried Max when it first came out. Found it to be hard to work with. A few years ago I tried another brand and was hooked. Great to paint with and clean up is so easy!

karenlee
08-17-2009, 08:27 AM