PDA

View Full Version : Gardens Edge

tlmarchi
08-13-2009, 03:23 PM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/08-13-2009/171496_IMG_flow_sm.jpg

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Gardens Edge
Year Created:
Medium: Oil
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 20x20
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
I've been away from home, (longer than expected),<br>and began suffering withdrawals from painting. This included hand wringing, and an undesirable eye twitch. :) I went to a local art supply store and purchased a few basic items to create this. I will clean up the edges with a smaller brush when I get home.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
There's always room for improvement, isn't there? Tell me what you are thinking. And by the way...the eye twitch is gone now...big sigh!

totsy
08-13-2009, 03:52 PM
Timarchi, let me add my two bits before the experts chime in. I just started painting and have begun to experience a little of what you have been going through, so I can just imagine what a veteran you like was going through. Sigh!!

I love these colors, so vibrant.

tlmarchi
08-13-2009, 07:34 PM
That's funny totsy! And thank you for sharing!

The yellow I bought was Cad. Yellow Hue, instead of Med., which I most normally use. I thought it was the same thing, but once it's mixed with another color it becomes very dull. I wasn't really wanting a dull look for this, but I used it anyway, and this is what I got.
Also, since posting this thread, I darkened the area around the center petal to give more depth to it. However, now the horizontal line in the center is annoying me because it seems to divide the painting, and distract! UR...

Fulano de Tal
08-14-2009, 05:35 AM
I would make one suggestion. The painting is almost totally red, foreground and background. By using complementary colors, you could make the flower jump out much more. As an example, I used Paintshop to change the background to the complement of red, which is green.