PDA

View Full Version : Shirley-Revised

maryyx
08-13-2009, 09:44 AM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/08-13-2009/193940_Shirley-complete.jpg

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Shirley
Year Created:
Medium: Watercolor
Surface: Paper
Dimension: 11 x 14
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
I am relatively new to painting. I've always wanted to be an artist - and finally about a year ago - gave myself permission to make my art a priority. Counting the work done when I was younger (I am now 61), I have 2-3 years experience. This is the 5th portrait I have completed. It is my first time to do teeth. The subject is a fellow artist in my watercolor portrait class. The reference photo was one with high contrast, showing every pore and wrinkle - so there was a lot that needed to be ignored. I am totally open to any constructive criticism.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
I am especially interested in tips for dealing with expression lines, and wrinkles.

crazywoman53
08-13-2009, 10:57 AM
I am not a portrait artist but I think this is wonderful and so glad you gave yourself permission to do art! The only thing that I would suggest is soften the eyebrows a bit. She might be one of those women that pencils on her eyebrows and that's how they really look though. Looking forward to seeing more of your work!

Sam_I_Am
08-13-2009, 12:39 PM
I think you have a remarkable talent with the limited experience you've had. This is a wonderful 5th portrait and I don't see any problems with it. I'm especially impressed at your watercolor handling :)

La_
08-13-2009, 03:05 PM
wow, Really nice work! i'm impressed = )

i'm a little confused by the necklace on her left side?

really wonderful attention to the light!

la

lindannemull
08-13-2009, 04:45 PM
This is amazing for a fifth portrait, the eyes are so bright and realistic.

plotinlaois
08-13-2009, 05:03 PM