PDA

View Full Version : still life

enrico
08-10-2009, 04:18 PM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/08-10-2009/195081_still_life.jpg

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: still life
Year Created:
Medium: Tempera
Surface: Wood
Dimension: 50x40 cm
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
egg tempera

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
impression

allanom
08-10-2009, 04:41 PM
Wonderful rendering and use of the medium. Terrific understanding of light and shadow. A beauty in all respects. Congratulations!

crazywoman53
08-10-2009, 04:50 PM
Very Realistic looking and beautifully painted.

TScottDove
08-10-2009, 07:05 PM
It doesn't get much better than this.
Breathtaking.
Really.

sarasotanan
08-10-2009, 07:53 PM
This is my first time trying to critique on wet canvas, just clicked on this one because it was a still life something I know a little about. I am thrilled, it is excellent - realism at it's finest.

sarasotanan
08-10-2009, 07:54 PM
:clap:This is my first time trying to critique on wet canvas, just clicked on this one because it was a still life something I know a little about. I am thrilled, it is excellent - realism at it's finest.

aspenman
08-10-2009, 10:24 PM
Beautiful work - fantastic realism - I say BRAVO!

billmahler
08-10-2009, 11:19 PM
If an excellent rendering of the subject is what you were after, you got it - it's masterful in every detail.
That said, Im not getting a clear emotional response from the painting. I think that's because the composition is so focused on the oranges and the leaves and doesn't tell us much about the world around them.
A stronger composition and design world help I think.

tali
08-10-2009, 11:35 PM
Agreed. I also think some more variety in the handling of the edges might add a little spirit to the painting, but I am unsure of the limitations and capabilities of egg tempera, so I may be wrong. The reflected light on the top orange may be a bit too light and overstated.