PDA

View Full Version : Celandine

Mikey
08-03-2009, 01:30 PM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/08-03-2009/28043_celandine_7.jpg

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Celandine
Year Created:
Medium: Oil
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 24 x 18 inches
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
I've got to the point of exasperation. However, I think it was worth the try.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
Whatever.

mroy27
08-03-2009, 02:08 PM
I like this painting. It is both smooth and rough and I like the 'no nonsense' expression. It is unique and the lighting on the robe and face are appealing to me. I am not an expert artist and my views are almost 'layman' like but I would prefer the pink flowers on the top to be more dull and abstract like the ones you have on the bottom. Especially the green bud like things, they could lose their shape, form and bright color, so that they don't make me look at them instead of the interesting lady.

Manju

La_
08-03-2009, 02:16 PM
hehe, oh how i know that exasperated feeling!

this is lovely mikey, i really like the comp and her soft look of contemplation, she looks wise

flowers, well, they can be more work than a face ... i find the large one poised at 11 o'clock a little overbearing in size, but the softness of the lot of them i like, they fit the softness of the rest of the piece very nicely.

la

MRSBB
08-03-2009, 04:06 PM
Hi Mikey. I like your lady and yes, I recognize that look. Personally I would like it better without any of the outside flowers. I think the flowers on the circle behind her are enough. I find the others very distracting. JMO.........Lenore

Mikey
08-03-2009, 05:01 PM
Thanks Manju. Your opinion is important because artists here need to know why a painting may or may not appeal to people.

Thanks La. I had thought about that flower, so maybe less woud be better.