PDA

View Full Version : shiny/dull patches --help!

koolkatz
07-10-2009, 05:26 PM
Greetings to all,
I am new to WC so I hope I am posting this in the right spot!
Anybody know what causes shiny or dull spots in large areas of one color?
Also, is there anything to be done when one has put linseed oil over a painting--long story,won't do again!--and it stays tacky and never dries.

Thank you in advance,
Abby

CareyG
07-10-2009, 06:30 PM
Hi Abby, welcome to WetCanvas. :)

Shiny and dull patches are common in oil paint. They relate to the oil content of the paint and absorption. When, for instance, a lower layer (or your painting ground) has "sucked" the oil out of an upper layer, then you get a dull area. If there is a larger amount of oil in a layer, then it will be more glossy. This is also sometimes due just to the properties of the pigment (how much oil it will contain, etc...many dark pigments, for instance, will dry dull).

Normally, it is not something to be worried about, and usually you can use retouch varnish to even out the sheen in the short term, and a final varnish will take care of it after the painting is sufficiently dried (six months to a year).

As for your other difficulty, you can try to remove the oil with solvent, but I suspect that it is better to just chalk your experience up to...experience. :) I suggest using a minimal amount of medium (or perhaps none) until you get a better handle on how oil paint itself behaves and you better understand the *whys* of using various mediums.

Hope that helps!

~!Carey

koolkatz
07-10-2009, 06:40 PM
Hi Carey,

thanks for the info!

Best regards,

Abby:)

CareyG
07-10-2009, 06:43 PM
You're welcome! :)

~!Carey

jdadson
07-10-2009, 07:01 PM