PDA

View Full Version : Another Male Head

Bongo1
07-08-2009, 11:47 PM
What do you guys think of this? Proportions? Likeness? Values? Are the lines on the left of his head distracting?

Struggled with this one.

nvcricket
07-09-2009, 01:50 AM
Hi Bongo!

I like how you accentuated some of the features like the eyebrows, and shape of is eyes. The neck area is a bit off to me. I think there should be darker values along the wide stretch of his chin, and your missing the down frown line that would give that part of his jaw line more structure.
Please be advised, I am not a portrait artist, just an admirer of your wonderful efforts!

Carol

jackiesimmonds
07-09-2009, 03:13 AM
This has lovely colour, and a good sense of solidity. However, do look again at the tip of the nose and think about "a nose" in three dimensions rather than simply copying the photo. The nose will have a central line if the face was turned towards you, that line is NOT where you have it right now because of the depiction of the light on the nose. Remember perspective; if the face is turned away, everything the other side of the "central line" down the face needs to be slightly different in proportion to anything to the right of that line.

Look again at the muscle in the chin, with this in mind. You would (and can, actually) see more of the near side of the muscle than the far side.

Look again at the size of the pupil of the near-side eye - you have made it much too small