PDA

View Full Version : Pastel Resurrection

Tripod
07-06-2009, 01:37 PM
Now this is a watercolour, but don't get upset.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/06-Jul-2009/62415-Old-cab.jpg

It is 48 x 36 cm and entirely done en plein aire in a fascinating yard belonging to my mate who collects lovely vintage machinery, vehicles and admittedly quite a lot of junk.

I have completely messed up the foliage as you can see. I am not worried about the marks and texture as that is OK, but due to my having the wrong tubes with me, I made do by a mix on the palette with what was available.

The greens are horrific so I intend to go in with soft pastel, as I don't mind mixing the media and after all I have a little used landscape set of soft pastels to hand. As there is quite a lot of it and I am a novice with pastels, would you suggest I go in with the darks then build to lights?

Having messed up the background I decided to leave the undergrowth in the foreground till later, but of course I could use the pastels there too.

Any tips for a learner please?

Colorix
07-06-2009, 03:25 PM
Hi, what a lovely jumble of... er... junk? I'm totally floored by the glass reflections in the windscreen! The rusts against green bg glow.

I'd use a piece of paper to practice on, if you're basically a total beginner in pastels. Going from darks to lights is good pastel practice, but you can also go from midtones and darker/lighter.

I'd also advice you to at least block in the undergrowth in the fg, so it all gets a unified appearence. That is, if you plan to use pastels there too. Pastels tend to not cover the 'pits' of the paper so well, and having a base coat of wc will help a lot.

Good luck!

Charlie

robertsloan2
07-06-2009, 08:45 PM