PDA

View Full Version : WC reference photos - 'professional' or not?

plindley
06-10-2009, 04:46 PM
Hi all....especially all you who are fired up from IAPS!!!

The Canadian Association of Pastel Artists is holding a juried show and the rules disallow any pastel painting that copies a 'professional photograph'.
I have frequently used the ref photos on WC (it is a GREAT resource), and while many of them are extremely good, I would not classify this as a library of 'professional photographs', would you? I plan to contact them for a 'ruling' but it would be helpful to know what the WC community thinks about it first.

Pat

K Taylor-Green
06-10-2009, 05:14 PM
Most of the photos in the RIL are posted by members who like to take and share their photos. but there are some professionals who contribute as well.

water girl
06-10-2009, 05:14 PM
Pat, only speaking for myself, I have posted several quality photos to the library and I am not a professional photographer. I posted them to share.

MChesleyJohnson
06-10-2009, 05:35 PM
Personally, I find it difficult to work from photographs taken by others. With mine, I can remember the mood, moment, etc., especially in a landscape.

Using another person's photo without explicit permission would be a violation of copyright. As for photos that are in the public domain, as in the WC reference library, the photographer has already done the work of composing the scene for you. If you use the composition and other specifics from the photo, whether professional or not, the work you create isn't entirely your own. Any work you submit for a competition really must be your own.

BTW, I'm not speaking in any official capacity, since I don't have anything to do with this event.

Deborah Secor
06-10-2009, 06:33 PM
I agree with Michael.