PDA

View Full Version : G'day Everyone!!!!

Georgi
05-24-2009, 07:32 PM
Hi everyone,

Just popping in to say "Hello!" I've been very slack lately and haven't picked up a paint brush for ages. I need a kick in the proverbial to get me started again!

I think I got that last night because my nephew has asked me to do a painting for him and his wife! Now I'm nervous. I get all worked up if I have to do a painting for someone else....does anyone else get butterflies if a similar situation arises? If I just paint for the sake of painting (or for my own sake) all is well, but when I feel I'm doing it for another, I seem to lose all confidence. What a pain!

So now I'm working myself up to facing a canvas...and my nerves! :eek:

PainterDeb
05-24-2009, 08:33 PM
Hi Georgi,

I think your feelings are perfectly normal!

I am just beginning, so I have had only one request....I would say don't worry too much about it, just paint and be yourself, what else can you do? Do the best you can without going crazy...I assume they have seen your work?

idylbrush
05-24-2009, 09:19 PM
This is most common. Don't let it get to you, it will only get in your way. Try to relax and be very loose when you start out and enjoy the process.

leamacd
05-25-2009, 12:58 AM
Hi Georgi - I'm sure you will do fine. Remember your nephew must love your work; otherwise he wouldn't have commissioned you to do one for him. I went back and had a look at threads you've posted with your work and you are very talented - so stop worrying and have fun!!

susme48
05-25-2009, 01:22 AM
Just go for it and enjoy!!

Georgi
05-25-2009, 05:11 AM
Thanks everyone for your encouraging comments. You have helped me a lot in dampening my trepidation! I'm glad I'm not alone in these feelings. I started today, just as far as doing the base coats...but it's a start!

Cheers,
Georgi :cat: