PDA

View Full Version : El Mandela de las Mujeres

bairam
05-14-2009, 09:59 PM
Thanks to Kathy and her MTM Class: Abstracts-Stretch Your Creativity, Feb. 15-25 for opening a whole new way of using acrylics to me.
I am not new to art but, I am new to Acrylics and what one can do with them. Kathy's approach in this class was using them as if they were watercolors, which I am very used to using.

Here is the result of that class. Thank you Kathy.
I dedicate this piece to women through the ages who where rarely recognized for their needlework.

Acrylic on Arches 300#HP, Liquitex Acrylics
Size 15 x 15

PattiLou
05-15-2009, 09:51 AM
Hi Maria, Kathy had a good class didn't she? I don't know much (make that anything) about abstracts but I love the colors you used.

How nice to dedicate the piece to women who are rarely recognized. My grandmother would have been one of them, she was always very busy with all the neelework, raising a family, gardening, feeding the farm animals, canning, etc.

I need to get back to that class after I finish my trees for the "Trees and Foliage class. Maybe I will learn a little bit about abstract.

Hope to see more from you.

bairam
05-15-2009, 10:00 AM
Thank you so much Patti for commenting and understanding my intent in the title.

What stong women our grandmothers were. I do believe we are still stong even though we don't have to tend the farm animals anylong, well at least I don't. LOL

I really appreciate your comments.

~~Kathleen
05-15-2009, 10:35 AM
I so agree with the both of you.
I remember both my grandmothers, even when they were sitting, always having a darning needle and or a knitting needle in their hands. They worked so very hard and produced so much.
I do like the way you have almost "Boxed" this work. Like a frame of honour.
Lovely gentle but with a strong impact.
Well done.
~~Kathleen

OkeeKat
05-15-2009, 10:37 AM
Hiya Maria!!:wave: