PDA

View Full Version : Logging Road

JudithAdene
05-07-2009, 02:57 AM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/05-06-2009/187251_Logging_Road_-_Oil_10_X_12.jpg

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Logging Road
Year Created:
Medium: Oil
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 10
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
This painting was done in January from a photo I took of an old logging road near my cottage. I feel that it lacks something, perhaps color?

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
As I recently started painting, I would appreciate feedback on this work, particularly the composition. Thanks.

hans.kok
05-07-2009, 03:00 AM
Recently started painting? This is already outstanding. The snow is wonderful. Perhaps you could need a bit more definition in the trees?
Hans

mooz49
05-07-2009, 03:43 AM
Hi Judith and welcome to WetCanvas :wave:
You have only started painting you say ....well somehow I feel you are going to be an excellent artist. This is lovely .... what a romantic spot .....I just want to walk along that path in the snow and up in through the trees ....gorgeous .....post more of your work soon!

thomas w
05-07-2009, 08:03 AM
Excellent work on that little path, you did the light and shadows perfectly.

tgsloth
05-07-2009, 08:10 AM
The composition is just fine and the trees are wonderfully depicted. You've really nailed the somewhat jumbled colors and forms of a winter grove. On the snow, I'd suggest cooler, bluer tones in the shadows. The snow is looking just a bit like whipped cream and what causes this, I think, is the rather warm tones you've used.

maryinasia
05-07-2009, 12:02 PM
I love the thick snow.

maqbool
05-07-2009, 01:07 PM
it is successful painting.....like it

grahamrj
05-07-2009, 03:34 PM
I think the snow is rendered well. The trees are too much of an solid mass - the top quarter of the pic has very little interest. Here's a digital edit...

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/07-May-2009/41458-grj-Logging_Road_-_Oil_10_X_12.jpg