PDA

View Full Version : How to Go About Painting

webart
05-01-2009, 02:22 PM
I recently tried out painting with acrylics by doing some quick landscapes and so far I really like it. I would like to now paint something that has more focus on a specific subject (animals) and am not sure how to go about it. Should I first paint in the background and then paint the subject over it or should I sketch everything in and then paint the background around the subject? I'm new to acrylics and any tips and advice you guys can give would be appreciated. Thanks.

George Servais
05-01-2009, 02:33 PM
Definitely paint the background first. The reason I say this is because I can almost always tell when someone paints around a subject. Sometimes there seems to be a slight halo around it and other times one can see where the brush strokes slowed down as they near the subject. Just keep the edges soft and the strokes bold. I will when painting almost any subject do a quick sketch of the subject (slightly smaller than the finished subject) and then paint slightly over the edges leaving much of the area unpainted and then proceed with the background. Be careful when doing this not to leave any hard edges or ridges of paint as they are almost impossible to cover later on.

*dee*
05-01-2009, 03:12 PM
I almost always paint the furthest away thing first.

For one thing, it allows you to create a sense of perspective.

For me its a total pain in the #$$ to put the background in afterwards...I don't even like to FIX anything in the background after my foreground is well underway. I might sketch my subject (like an animal) in but I paint the background just inside the "subject space"....and then re-sketch if need be. If your animal is a long-haired, fluffy one, especially, the background will show through just a tad bit.

JStoltz
05-01-2009, 03:31 PM