PDA

View Full Version : Paints, Canvas or Me?

Irish_2417
04-29-2009, 10:50 PM
Hello everyone,

I am VERY new to painting (just started a few days ago) and have a question. Basicaly, I would like to know how blending works? I currently have Galeria Acrylic paints and I am painting on thick type of paper. I have a few videos on how to paint with acrylics but I am wondering how one does it so easily? When I put two colors close to one another, the paint drys soooo fast that I can't blend at all. I tried today and it looked awful.

1) Is it the cheap paint I am using?
2) Is it the cheap paper I am using?

The video I own shows a man using masonite hard board, sands it off and and then paints gesso/paint/water mixture 3-4 times. Does this help when blending? I am guessing the overwhelming answer is going to be yes ha. Sorry for the silly question, I am really quite new to this. Thanks!

wabbitt
04-29-2009, 11:25 PM
I started with Galeria paints, too, a couple years ago. They're a bit transparent, so you'll have to build up with layers and learn how to scumble. I also picked up a technique to paint an opaque color (intended color plus white) first, when it's dry then put your real intended color on top of that.

For blending, be generous with the paint. Adding medium will help and having paintbrush in one hand, water sprayer in the other helps alot. But basically, mix the color you want on your palette, with a palette knife, not with the brush. This will also extend the life of your brushes by not pushing paint up in the ferrules.

You can paint acrylics on almost any surface. Your paint's drying quickly because the paper is sucking moisture off the first couple layers. Prepare your paper with a layer of gesso. Or just keep putting more paint on top until it's right. You'll want to prepare masonite the same way or deal with the extra fast drying until the surface is covered once or twice.