PDA

View Full Version : Opinions needed

Malvasia
04-27-2009, 02:19 PM
---as title says, i need your honest opinion.
I tried something different. In a couple of months there will be a religious art exibit and i took the chance to try a subject I have very seldom tried.
I didnt want to copy old masters, but I wanted to keep a feeling of... dont know, Renaissance maybe, or at least eighteenth century art.
Lacking real models, i had to use photos from the net as reference for the main chars, while the setting is inspired by at least two '800 masters.
For the light i studied Caravaggio a lot, but ofc didnt manage to render a 1/1,000,000th of what he could do...
Since i know the fonts, it still looks like a kind of collage to me, so i need a different opinion...
Honestly, what do you think of this?

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/27-Apr-2009/49949-MADONNA1_rid.jpg

Madonna con Bambino e San Giovannino.
Acrylics on canvas. 35*50 cm

~~Kathleen
04-27-2009, 03:35 PM
I do like where you are going with this.
The light is good, and I do like the overall feeling this painting has.

If I may suggest....the bared shoulder is too far forward, and looks very awkward.
I took the liberty of drawing over your painting in Paint for an example. (hope you don't mind.) I think that by repositioning the hair, you would save yourself the problem of relocating the baby/breast and shoulder.
(My opinion only.)
~~Kathleen
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/27-Apr-2009/92567-madinna.JPG

gaykir
04-27-2009, 05:19 PM