PDA

View Full Version : beginner

frankj72
04-19-2009, 09:05 AM
Hello,

First of all,I recently joined, this is my first post and wanted to say hi! I have just taken up painting, and I tried one painting in water soluble oils and 2 in acrylics. For now I will stick to acrylics because I like the consistency and the feel when I spread them on the canvas (or paper), and overall it seems the colors get less muddy.

I have no background education in art, except I liked to draw when I was a kid :), and I am hoping that participating to the discussion on this website could help me slowly become a better painter.

I post here my third painting, it has been a struggle. In particular, I had problems with shadows: I painted the sunlit area of the building with yellow ochre and titanium white, and for the shadow area, after trying loads of different hings, i settled with adding yellow ochre+titanium white (less than for the sunlit area)+ultramarine blue+a touch of alizarin crimson... (i have a limited number of colors for now)

My questions are:

1) when painting, should one start with the shaded areas and then paint the brighter ones afterwards? Is there a general rule which makes it easier to proceed?

2) how can a mix the shadow color for a yellow ochre building?

I would be very grateful for any sort of feedback that would help me initiate a more structured approach to painting. Thanks.

vickilyn
04-19-2009, 09:20 AM
Hi Frank, great to see you taking up this wonderful occupation, great effort here. Lyn

gaykir
04-19-2009, 09:43 AM
I love this! It's very stylized and the color palette is so inviting. I'd say it looks to me like you are not having any problems....I'd hate to see you change a thing!

~~Kathleen
04-19-2009, 11:55 AM
Welcome to Wet canvas Frank.
You are doing very well here.
I have added a couple of links to some self-directed help Classrooms our members have been presenting on this forum.
http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=543223