PDA

View Full Version : "How to Paint the Landscape in Pastels"...BOOK help!

Deborah Secor
04-17-2009, 02:33 PM
I've had several requests lately from people for my book, which is titled 'How to Paint the Landscape in Pastels'. I've been a pastel teacher for over 20 years now, and I've written for The Pastel Journal and other publications for over 10 years, but I've never done any kind of graphic layout or design of any kind. Here's my plea...

Is there some kind soul or souls out there who would like to help me out, in trade for something (the book, paintings and the book, lifetime online critiques, my firstborn son--no, wait, can't give him away, he's an adult now!)??? I suspect I could use help in two areas, primarily:

1. Editing. I need someone to read through my text and help me clean up the copy (spelling, punctuation, syntax), as well as making suggestions on how to arrange the book, if needed. This is a big job: the word count exceeds 56,000 (82 s/s pages) at the moment! If you have a talent and some experience with this, and would benefit from closely examining such a textbook, this might be a good fit.

2. Design/formatting. I need someone to take my raw manuscript, lay it out in MS Word, and reformat it in: Adobe Indesign, Adobe Photoshop or Adobe Illustrator (all in PDF format), or put my Word program into a PDF file, flatten the illustrations and convert text to outlines, using CMYK... (whatever all that means! :lol: Oh and please don't try to explain it to me. Thanks. I don't need to know how or what--I need someone to DO it for me.) You would be working with a local Albuquerque printer, but a lot can be done online, of course.

I have a lot of unframed paintings I'd love to trade for work such as this. I'm trying to come up with a way to keep this book affordable, so I've compressed it a lot, and tried to hone it to where the words are what matters most. I'm even considering having only 4 color pages, which reduces the cost per book in print.