PDA

View Full Version : Beginner Needs Feedback

PainterDeb
04-11-2009, 05:23 PM
Hello - I've lurked here for a couple of months and this is a great site!

I enjoyed art class in high school, but haven't really done any painting since then. It's something I've always wanted to do "someday", but since I'm over 50 it's time to start! It's definitely one of the things on my Bucket List.

I'm still learning the basics, but here are two early attempts. I still have a few finishing touches to do on each of them, but would like any constructive criticism you think would be helpful for a beginner. . I don't get my feelings hurt easily, so don't hesitate to be blunt.

These are both 11 x 14 on canvas panel, painted with craft acrylics, although I do try to use the FolkArt Artists' Pigments.

I am still having trouble with edges, mixing colors, etc., but I know the only way to get better is to paint.

Also, I get an error when I try to do an image insert, so I am attaching the images instead.

Thanks!

C & C welcome.

Li'l Brown
04-11-2009, 05:29 PM
Hey Deb! Welcome to the acrylics forum.

I like both of these but would have to say I especially love the reflected colours in the building of the second painting. IMO you could probably lose the cat silhouette, as it draws my eye away from the rest of the painting. I would almost like to see the cat sitting on the top step or something, a little less obtrusive. But that's just my opinion, and it's your painting :) I'll leave the real advice-giving to the experts here! lol

lilbelle
04-11-2009, 05:35 PM
I really like the second painting also! Wonderful colours in your trees, bushes and fence.
The first one looks a little flat and would benefit from a stronger light source. I like the backgound and the form of the flowers!
Nice work and welcome!

Lady Carol
04-11-2009, 05:40 PM