PDA

View Full Version : Maggie Price's workshop was WONDERFUL!!!

pastel lover
04-07-2009, 12:23 AM
Hi All,

I just returned from Maggie Price's workshop in Merriam, KS and it was wonderful. Not only is Maggie a phenonminal artist, but she is a great teacher as well. I very much enjoyed Maggie's teaching style. She explained the exercises we were given in concise, easily understood terms and provided handouts as re-enforcement for later. She also did thorough demos of each exercise and then completed the painting, explaining why she did things as she painted along. We were able to see how to handle all the steps, from beginning to end. This was very valuable to me, being a self-taught painter, it was great to see how to "properly" paint with pastels. Another thing I particularly liked was, although we all were expected to do the same exercise, we were allowed to apply the exercise to our own projects. At the end of the workshop, we all had different paintings... no cookie cutter, cloned pieces there!
Each of us received plenty of one-on-one instruction time with Maggie at our easels. She answered all of my questions with knowledge and consideration plus she offered painting tips and suggestions for making my paintings better. Even though it was a workshop with several artists, I felt like I received very individualized instruction. As a bonus, Maggie's husband Bill, an award winning artist himself, was there and available for questions if Maggie was busy. The only bad thing was how fast the time flew by and the workshop was over too soon!
Maggie herself is friendly, inspiring, encouraging and enthusiatic! She is a very, very nice person, as is Bill.
My recommendation is, if you get the opportunity to take a workshop with Maggie....DO IT! You'll love it!

Tanja

edencompton
04-07-2009, 12:31 AM
Sounds great Tanja! Any more info? It's always fun to hear how different workshops are organized. Let us know more if you get a chance!

Scottyarthur
04-07-2009, 10:20 AM