PDA

View Full Version : Hair in PSP7 ?

JavaJive
08-16-2002, 03:38 PM
Does anyone know of a good way to create realistic hair in the PSP program? I can not afford PS or obtain Painter at this time.
Any suggestions or techniques would be appreciated
Thanks

fugitive
08-16-2002, 04:17 PM
I've been researching and reading, and sweating for several yrs to get hair right in PSP7. Now I guess, I get to pass it on. I have many paintings. Don't think I did a hair specific tut, but have some knowlege of the subject.
Lately though, I do slip over to Painter for some hair texture, which can't be beat. Try this mini painting tut I did.
http://www.retouchpro.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=3578

BlackTigr
08-17-2002, 06:11 AM
Javajive, for my most complex digital work (in progress so far) to date...I first used a base color, smudged in a darker color, and then airbrushed on top. It gave me the effect I wanted, but the hair took me literally tens of hours of learning curve. If I can find Red Riding Hood, I will post a link for ya.

--BT

Edit: Link-- http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=39667

And note that 90% of this was done on PSP 4.

digistyle
08-17-2002, 12:40 PM
I don't use psp, but my suggestion would be not to look at the process as a function of any particular program. Use the basic techniques that a traditional artist would use and adapt them to the medium (program) that you are using. Here a good tute from an oil painter who also works digitally:
http://www.seegmillerart.com/Images/tutorials/hair/hair1.html

This one is by one of my favorite digi artists:
http://www.gameart.com/tutorials/index.asp?tutorial=hair2