PDA

View Full Version : What objects attract you the most?

annette71
03-16-2009, 01:03 AM
I have been painting for 15 months now...not too long, but i have found in this short journey that there are certain particular objects in nature that i find very attractive or interesting and painting them in different forms seems to always be a good idea. I don't get the same feeling with other objects, although i do enjoy painting other things of course. It's a special vibe or attraction. You probably know exactly what i mean.

I thought it would be interesting to ask you fellow WCers what are those special objects you are attracted to paint in particular, even if you don't paint them all the time. Those objects that you just "know" you were meant to paint, even if you don't fully understand why (or maybe you do know why). So if you wish, you're welcome to join in.

I'll go first... I'm most powerfully drawn to ROCKS and TREES, don't know exactly why. I just do.

Annette

knippes
03-16-2009, 10:19 AM
Hi Annette,
I've been painting for just a little longer than you. I've found that I'm drawn to way too many things when it comes to painting. I haven't yet managed to find that one subject. I'm drawn to still lifes with historical content, western themed portraiture, rodeos, western landscapes and flowers. With my photography I'm drawn firstly to flowers, then to prairie landscapes and then to rodeos. I've got more experience with the photography, so perhaps that's why I'm a little more specific there. I went to the Leaning Tree Western Art Museum in Boulder, CO yesterday and was surprised to find that the paintings that drew me the most were ones that weren't in the "style" that I've been developing. Hmmm, wonder what that means...
-Kym

Colorix
03-16-2009, 10:32 AM