PDA

View Full Version : I'm trying to be a "real" artist!

Christine Mallaband
08-15-2002, 03:59 PM
Its got a bit of something about it Arthur Berry

Hi.
I'm quite new to wet canvas, and you may have seen me popping up on various forums!

I want to be a real artist! After years of full time work- which I continue to do, I realise I must make something of the talent I have before it's too late. My wake up call was having both wrists operated on for carpal tunnel syndrome, and then falling and breaking my left wrist.
I was getting over that when I was burgled earlier this year. I went for councelling because I felt the world was falling in on my head. I know other people who have had worse problems, but I finally realised I'd got to get up off my bottom and do something!
After that I couldn't stop, my confidence grew, and I finally walked into a local Art College (Burslem School of Art) and asked if they would be interested in exhibiting my paintings (luckily they were already after local artists) so in a couple of weeks time I will have an exhibition, all to myself.
I am frightened and proud all at once.
To everyone who has believed in me over the years- Thanks and don't let me get insufferable!

my exhibition (all being well), and you are all welcome... is at:

llis
08-15-2002, 05:07 PM
Congratulations!

Wow, after all you have been thru... you deserve to have a grand opening and a grand party.

We're proud of you!

Rose Queen
08-15-2002, 08:30 PM
Wow! This is a wonderful example of what The Artist's Way calls 'synchronicity.' Sometimes life just falls on you, but if you listen to that wake-up call and ask for what you want, it can all just come together like a charm! Oh, and by the way, Christine, you're most definitely a real artist... Congrats!

chris 97
08-16-2002, 12:22 AM
congratulations! hope it is a great show! and you get lots of accolades and sell a bunch (if that is what you want)!

Christine Mallaband
08-16-2002, 01:19 PM
Thanks all!