PDA

View Full Version : Copal medium

rltromble
02-26-2009, 12:39 AM
Alright here is the deal. I am doing a master study, which loosely translate into using a dark back ground. I used Ivory black and ultramarine blue and then added a couple drops of copal medium (just enough to make it fluid) to speed up the drying time since I wanted the background tobe dry before I started the next layer of glazing on the figure.
It took more then three days for it dry. Is this normal? Should I have added more? Or maybe should I try a different medium to aid in the drying next time?

Einion
02-26-2009, 11:41 AM
Just to check are you painting on top of the dark background you've created, or is this just surrounding the area still to be painted?

It took more then three days for it dry. Is this normal?
It might bem for the temperature and humidity, the specific paints you used and on the support you're working on.

Should I have added more? Or maybe should I try a different medium to aid in the drying next time?
Personally I wouldn't suggest you use copal medium at all, even if it were made from real copal which is unlikely these days.

Faster-drying layers can be achieved with little recourse to additives by careful selection of paints which naturally dry faster.

A small addition of Liquin or similar can be added if necessary.

Einion

LarrySeiler
02-26-2009, 12:30 PM
I've painted with copal for about a decade now...

Traditionally it was used with glazing applying a thin layer over dried paint, then painted into...allowed to dry or set up, then another thin layer was applied over it and painted into. Many many layers built up.