PDA

View Full Version : conte crayon help?

DandyLioness
02-06-2009, 06:52 PM
not sure where exactly I should post this.

I want to make a portrait drawing using conte crayons (which I have no experience with-- nor do I have any pastel experience). I'm wondering if anyone has any tips or suggestions on how to do the details? I was working last night and having a hard time getting the pigments to go exactly where I wanted them, so I ended up just putting it down in a general area and using a tortillion stump to push it where I wanted it. I'm not sure how much detail I can achieve this way though...

Sonni
02-06-2009, 07:02 PM
I figure anything that creates dust goes under pastel. I think Conte Crayons are made in a way similar to nu-pastel and I use them interchangably as I do charcoal and pastel. To my knowledge, there is no wax or oil in the mix and the word "crayon" may be a misnomer.:confused: Dunno, as there are now watercolor "crayons" out too.:rolleyes:

knippes
02-07-2009, 08:10 AM
I also have problems getting the point to go exactly where I want it. I usually use my fingers to push the pastel where I want it to go. If I'm working in a spot where my fingers are too big, I use a colour shaper tool. Most blending tools seem to take way more dust off the painting, then actually blending it. Not counting your fingers, the colour shaper IMHO leaves the most pigment where it belongs. You can find the colour shapers here at Dick Blick. http://www.dickblick.com/products/colour-shapers-tools/
Hope this helps.
-Kym

Kathryn Wilson
02-07-2009, 09:10 AM
Actually, here is what Wikipedia says about Conte crayons:

Conté, also known as Conté sticks or Conté crayons, are a drawing medium composed of compressed powdered graphite or charcoal mixed with a wax or clay base, square in cross-section.