PDA

View Full Version : Arab Foal-Finished

Hoofnpaw
01-17-2009, 04:34 PM
Hi All, :wave:

This is my first post to our new Equine forum! This beautiful ref came from Cathy (Crias)...thank you! This is Prismas on colored MT pastel paper 9 x12, the toothed side. I have about 2 1/2 hours into this, and have only burnished in a few places, so far. It is my first attempt on colored paper and also first time on Mi Tientes.

Does anyone have a preference to the toothed or the smooth side? It seems difficult to get layers and detail on the toothed side. I am also struggling a little with color application on colored paper. Tips and tricks would be welcomed! Thanks for looking! Sean

Night Horse Studio
01-17-2009, 07:59 PM
Sean, I think it's looking great so far.

I used to use MT, way back in the day, lol, and I couldn't get along with it at all. That's when I discovered Strathmore Artagain...IMO a very good paper. But with MT as I remember, I used to use the smooth side. I don't like to use too many layers with CP, and the toothy side required too many layers to burnish.

The paper color can really affect your pencil colors. If it's not too much trouble, what colors are you using?

Steph

Hoofnpaw
01-17-2009, 09:23 PM
Thanks Steph. It is looking less ugly since I have done some burnishing this evening---the tooth is really tough to knock down though. I'll post an update tomorrow.
Here are the colors I am using: Burnt Ochre, Terra Cotta,Henna,Sienna,Light Umber, Chocolate, Expresso, Dark Brown, Indigo Blue, Black Cherry, Black Grape, Cool Greys , French Greys, warm greys, sand, yellow ochre, ginger root......whew....hope you didn't want to know which ones where? LOL

Sean

Night Horse Studio
01-17-2009, 10:55 PM
Um, Sean, yes, actually I DO want to know which colors went where. Just kidding lol.

I used to use Sand, but it got to be almost too yellow for me under my Burnt Sienna layers. Then I started using beige, and it works well for any color paper.