PDA

View Full Version : How to Bake Clay (Terra Cotta); I need help.

Traviezo
12-31-2008, 06:46 PM
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to working with clay and I created a couple animal figures with my young son. Since I do not have access to a kiln was wondering if anyone can provide me with the instructions for Baking the terra cotta clay at home. Thanks for your help!

rosebead
01-01-2009, 12:22 AM
Hi & welcome to WC!
I'm afraid Terra cotta clay can not be "baked" hot enough in your home oven. It needs a temp of about 1800 degrees Fahrenheit to become durable and hard.
You can dry it out at home, but without firing in a kiln it will remain brittle and fragile.
There are air drying clays that do not require any further hardening or firing, but they remain non waterproof & easily broken.

Traviezo
01-02-2009, 12:22 AM
Thanks Diane for your quick response! I'm going to have to find a studio that can fire them up for me. I'm wondering how much time can pass by before it's too late to fire the animal figures? Lastly, what might be the simpliest way of glazing the figures at home? Thanks.

Traviezo

rosebead
01-02-2009, 01:42 PM
Well if you keep them safe from breakage, they can be held indefinitely before they are fired. There is no expiration date.
If you find a studio to fire your pieces, they can probably help you with glazing them too.
Or if you find someone to fire them, you can use acrylic paint on them instead of glazing them, which doesn't require a second firing. Also there are "paints" made by pebeo & others that require baking in a home oven, but they are permanent. http://www.pebeo.com/us/index.htm

skyshweta
01-18-2009, 08:35 AM
Hi i m totally new in this field.....wish to start work due to personal interest. Is there any need to bake polymer clay?

skyshweta
01-18-2009, 08:39 AM