PDA

View Full Version : Rocky Perch

mackb
12-16-2008, 01:15 AM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/12-15-2008/164359_My_Art4_002-1.jpg

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Rocky Perch
Year Created:
Medium: Oil
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 24X30
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
This is a compilation of rock cuts beside highways in Northe<br> Ontario and done entirely with a palette knife.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
I love knife painting more than any other type of oil painting, but I don't know if my technique is too rough. Also do I have enough contrast and points of interest? any input is welcome.

Gemini IX
12-16-2008, 05:41 AM
Hello and welcome!
I am not an expert, but I think you could improve this painting something fierce. First of all get rid of the birds flying. You most likely will never find birds like that flying in fine art. It seems to me the highway should be curved around a bit or something, somehow the perspective does not seem right, I can't really say. I wish I could help you more. Maybe someone can give you some tips. With a few adjustments I think you would be quite pleased.
Keep up with the knife!

tgsloth
12-16-2008, 07:50 AM
I've found it difficult to compellingly paint rock structures and you've produced a creative and competent treatment with your knife work. I feel like the problem with the painting is entirely the left side for several reasons:

Compositionally, it doesn't really add anything to have a vague, far view all on the left. I think a photographer would not compose his frame that way. The painting is about the dramatic rock structure and should therefore limit itself to the structure. I offer a photoshop which simply crops out the left and suggest that it looks better:

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/16-Dec-2008/124239-164359_My_Art4_002-1.jpg