PDA

View Full Version : glazes, shine and varnish

Naris
08-05-2002, 09:34 AM
Hello all! What a great site. I'm a newbie here and thought you folks might know about a shine problem. I've been working in oils, mostly alkyd and used "Wingel" for some glazing. I love the stuff, it's juicy and smooth but dries extremely shiny. After I finished my painting (and waited a couple of months), I applied a satin varnish I could still see all the shiny bits where the Wingel had been applied. It looks very blotchy, some bits very glossy, some slightly shiny, some parts satin. Any suggestions?
Thank you for replying. I'll post a pic of the painting when I figure out how to do that...

David Dowbyhuz
08-05-2002, 11:14 AM
Even after applying a satin varnish? Hmm. Odd.

Most of the alkyd mediums (Liquin, et al) do promote glossy passages, but a good low gloss varnish usually tames them. (I personally cannot stand "Wingel"! How can you make it work? It seems to absolutely refuse to blend with the pigment!)

There is "matte" varnish available. Maybe someone with a more "chemical" background will help ...

Naris
08-05-2002, 03:45 PM
Thanks Iconoclast, I do need to get the shine under control. DO you think a second varnish would be harmful - over top of the satin one I already put on? I could try the matt...

David Dowbyhuz
08-05-2002, 04:08 PM
I'd recommend you hang in for a little while and see what other advice is forthcoming ...

I know you can layer varnish, but usually the same varnish. I'd hesitate to guess what the effect of another, competing varnish might do.

This is very odd. Varnish has always unified the painted surface in my experience. I only use "matte".

J F
08-05-2002, 05:53 PM