PDA

View Full Version : Critique: post your Starting Landscape

Deborah Secor
11-19-2008, 10:52 AM
If you've created your own version of the landscape I did in the video Get Started in Pastels: Deborah Secor Paints the Landscape (http://www.artistsnetwork.com/video_preview.aspx?id=12545), please share it here. I'd be delighted to give you some hints and tips on how to improve it, if you'd like, and you can ask me any questions you have.

I'd be happy to help out in any way I can!

Deborah

coladons
02-28-2009, 01:55 PM
Hi Deborah,

I purchased both of your videos and they are really great. I am a hobbyist painter and just recently started with pastels. I have posted my attempt at your Landscape workshop.

I did not have the larger sheets of Wallis on hand so used a 9x12 Wallis pad that was Belgian Mist, not white. I know you recommended 12x18, white, and then did an underpainting but I used what I had.

Would appreciate your comments/suggestions.

The painting is on 9x12 Wallis, Belgian Mist, no underpainting. The pastels were a combination of Nu-pastel and 1/2 sticks of Sennelier.

Thanks.

Steve

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/28-Feb-2009/79728-Landscape_01_600.jpg

Deborah Secor
03-01-2009, 04:58 PM
Hey, Steve, glad to see you posted your painting! I hope you're pleased with it as it stands now. I suspect, if you're like me, you'd like to know how to move on a bit with some aspects, and I welcome specific questions you might have, too.

Let's evaluate this... I think you've done a good job of beginning the gradation of blues from dark above to lighter at the horizon. I'd suggest that you do a little more blending of those colors by overlapping some light over the dark and dark over the light. There's a bit of a jump yet. Trust me, as you build up the layers of pastel it will begin to gradually fill up the tooth of the Wallis paper more.